Eight HHMI scientists and one HHMI scientific review board member are among 210 fellows and 19 foreign honorary members elected.

Eight Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) scientists and one member of HHMI’s scientific review board are among the 210 new fellows and 19 foreign honorary members elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Membership in the American Academy honors individuals who have made prominent contributions to society and to their disciplines, which include mathematics, physics, biological sciences, social sciences, humanities and the arts, public affairs and business. The Academy's broad-based membership gives it a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary studies and public policy research.

This year's new fellows and foreign honorary members include scholars, scientists, artists, writers, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders from 28 states and 11 countries. The Academy will welcome this year's new class at its annual induction ceremony on October 10, at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The newly elected members are:

David A. Agard

University of California, San Francisco

David Baker

University of Washington

G. Vann Bennett

Duke University Medical Center

Mario R. Capecchi

University of Utah

Sean B. Carroll

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Mark A. Krasnow

Stanford University School of Medicine

W. James Nelson

Member, HHMI Scientific Review Board

James W. Truman

Janelia Farm Research Campus

Wayne M. Yokoyama

Washington University School of Medicine

For More Information

Jim Keeley 301.215.8858