The Medical Advisory Board counsels HHMI leadership on scientific programs. The board includes accomplished scientists and leaders of biomedical research institutions, who advise on:

  • long-range strategy for promoting biomedical research and science education;
  • proposals for new research programs, investigator competitions, and grants programs; 
  • scientific achievements and future potential of current investigators, including the evaluation of whether an investigator's term of appointment should be renewed;
  • review of candidates for HHMI research programs; and
  • other matters concerning research programs  and performance on which the president seeks counsel.


  • Mary C. Beckerle, PhD
    CEO and Director, Huntsman Cancer Institute
    University of Utah
  • Carol W. Greider, PhD
    Daniel Nathans Professor and Director, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
    Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Carol A. Gross, PhD
    Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
    University of California, San Francisco
  • Peter S. Kim, PhD
    Faculty Fellow, Stanford ChEM-H
    Virginia and D. K. Ludwig Professor of Biochemistry
    Stanford University
  • Judith Kimble, PhD
    Vilas Professor and Vannevar Bush Professor in Biochemistry
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Rowena G. Matthews, PhD
    G. Robert Greenberg Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Department of Biological Chemistry and Life Sciences Institute
    University of Michigan
  • Eric N. Olson, PhD
    Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Biology
    The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Bruce Stillman, PhD, FRS
    President and CEO
    Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
  • Craig B. Thompson, MD
    President and CEO
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Richard W. Tsien, PhD
    Chair and Druckenmiller Professor of Neuroscience, Department of Neuroscience and Physiology
    Director, Neuroscience Institute
    New York University School of Medicine
  • Fiona M. Watt, DPhil, FRS, FMedSci
    Director, King’s Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
    King’s College London
  • Detlef Weigel, PhD
    Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology