Skip to main content


The Scientific Review Board participates in the review of candidates for our research programs and investigators for reappointment.

The board includes accomplished scientists who collectively represent the breadth of biomedical fields in which HHMI Investigators work.


Larry Abbott, PhD
William Bloor Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience
Kolb Research Annex
Columbia University

David Altshuler, MD, PhD
Executive Vice President, Global Research, and Chief Scientific Officer
Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Dora Angelaki, PhD
Professor of Neural Science and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
New York University

Silvia Arber, PhD
Professor of Neurobiology and Cell Biology
Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research

Naama Barkai, PhD
Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics
Weizmann Institute of Science

Lorena Beese, PhD
James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Professor of Biochemistry
Duke University

Shelley L. Berger, PhD
Daniel S. Och University Professor
Director, Epigenetics Institute
University of Pennsylvania

Alexander Borst, PhD
Director, Department of Circuits – Computation – Models
Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology

Nils Brose, MSc, PhD
Professor, Director
Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine

Aravinda Chakravarti, PhD
Director, Center for Human Genetics and Genomics
NYU Grossman School of Medicine

Roger Cone, PhD
Mary Sue Coleman Director and Research Professor
Life Sciences Institute
University of Michigan

Michael Czech, PhD
Isadore and Fannie Foxman Chair of Medical Research
Program in Molecular Medicine
UMass Chan Medical School 

Marc Freeman, PhD
Director and Senior Scientist
Vollum Institute
Oregon Health & Science University

Gregory Hannon, PhD
Director & Senior Group Leader
Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute
University of Cambridge

Caroline S. Harwood, PhD
Gerald and Lyn Grinstein Professor of Microbiology
University of Washington

Richard Henderson, PhD, FRS
Programme Leader
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Anthony Hyman, PhD
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Sabine Kastner, MD, PhD
Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience
Neuroscience Institute
Princeton University

Jürgen Knoblich, PhD
Scientific Director (Interim)
Institute of Molecular Biotechnology

Robb Krumlauf, PhD
Scientific Director Emeritus and Professor
Stowers Institute for Medical Research

Richard Lifton, MD, PhD
President and Carson Family Professor
The Rockefeller University

Kelsey Martin, MD, PhD
Executive Vice President
SFARI and Simons Foundation Neuroscience Collaborations 

Joan Massagué, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Director, Sloan Kettering Institute

Diane Mathis, PhD
Professor of Microbiology and Immunobiology
Morton Grove-Rasmussen chair
Harvard Medical School  

Markus Meister, PhD
Anne P. and Benjamin F. Biaggini Professor of Biological Sciences 
California Institute of Technology 

Andrew Murray, PhD
Herchel Smith Professor of Molecular Genetics and Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Harvard University 

Dmitri Petrov, PhD
Professor of Biology
Director of the Program for Conservation Genomics
Stanford University

Janet Rossant, PhD
President and Scientific Director
Gairdner Foundation

Robert T. Sauer, PhD
Salvador E. Luria Professor
Department of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alex Schier, PhD
Professor of Cell Biology and the Director of the Biozentrum
University of Basel 

Robert Schreiber, PhD
Andrew M. and Jane M. Bursky Distinguished Professor, Pathology & Immunology
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

Petra Schwille, PhD
Director, Department of Cellular and Molecular Biophysics
Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry

Shanthini Sockanathan, PhD
Vice Chair of Faculty, Department of Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Wesley Sundquist, PhD
Chair and Distinguished Professor
Department of Biochemistry
University of Utah School of Medicine

David Tollervey, PhD
Professor of RNA Biology
Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow
Wellcome Center for Cell Biology
University of Edinburgh

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, PhD
University Professor and Mikati Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Columbia University

Susan Wessler, PhD
Neil A and Rochelle A Campbell Presidential Chair for Innovations in Science Education
University of California Riverside