HHMI scientists are among 84 newly elected members.

Seven Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. They are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries elected today in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. In addition to the newly elected members, 167 current HHMI scientists are members of the Academy.

Newly elected members also included HHMI professor Alanna Schepartz of Yale University and new foreign member K. VijayRaghavan, a member of the Janelia Farm Advisory Committee.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The HHMI scientists newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences are:

HHMI Investigators

Zhijian “James” Chen
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

James J. Collins
Boston University

Jason G. Cyster
University of California, San Francisco

Robert B. Darnell
The Rockefeller University

Michael R. Green
University of Massachusetts

Vamsi K. Mootha
Massachusetts General Hospital

Brenda A. Schulman
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

HHMI Professor

Alanna Schepartz
Yale University

Janelia Farm Advisory Committee

K. VijayRaghavan
National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore, India

For More Information

Jim Keeley 301.215.8858