Summer Medical Fellows Program Mentors

Applicants to the Summer Medical Fellows Program are encouraged to contact one or more of the following HHMI investigators or early career scientists who are willing to host Summer Medical Fellows in their labs.

Investigator Institution/Location Research
Susan Ackerman, PhD
susan.ackerman@jax.org
Jackson Laboratory,
Bar Harbor, ME
Identification of the Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Neurodegeneration
David  Agard, PhD
agard@msg.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Discovering the Structural Basis for Biological Function at the Molecular and Cellular Levels
Fred Alt, PhD
Kristine.King@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Gene Rearrangement, DNA Repair, Genomic Stability, and Cancer
Utpal Banerjee, PhD
win@lifesci.ucla.edu
University of California, Los Angeles,
Los Angeles, CA
Developmental Biology, Genetics
James Bardwell, PhD
jbardwel@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
Optimization of Protein Folding In Vivo
Hugo Bellen, DVM, PhD
kschulze@bcm.edu
Baylor College of Medicine,
Houston, TX
Molecular Mechanisms of Vesicle Trafficking in Neurons and Neural Development
Vann Bennett, MD, PhD
benne012@mc.duke.edu
Duke University,
Durham, NC
Ankyrins and Functional Organization of Membrane-Spanning Proteins in Vertebrate Tissues
Martin Burke, MD, PhD
burke@scs.uiuc.edu
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
Urbana, IL
Molecular Prosthetics: Small Molecules That Replicate the Functions of Proteins
Jean-Laurent Casanova, MD, PhD
yene399@rockefeller.edu
Rockefeller University,
New York, NY
Life-Threatening Infectious Diseases of Childhood: Single-Gene Inborn Errors of Immunity?
Vivian Cheung, MD
vgcheung@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
Human Genetics of Complex Phenotypes and Gene Regulation
Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD
arul@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
A Search for Gene Fusions in Common Solid Tumors
George Daley, MD, PhD
george.daley@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Stem Cells in Development and Disease
Joseph DeRisi, PhD
jennifer@derisilab.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Genomics and Infectious Disease
Raymond Deshaies, PhD
deshaies@caltech.edu
California Institute of Technology,
Pasadena, CA
The Ubiquitin System and Cellular Regulation
Hal Dietz, MD
hdietz@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Molecular Determinants of Aortic Aneurysm and Other Manifestations of Connective Tissue Disorders
Brian Druker, MD
tognon@ohsu.edu
Oregon Health & Science University,
Portland, OR
Mechanism-Based Therapy for Leukemia
Elizabeth Engle, MD
engle.admin@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA Human Disorders of Cranial Motor Neuron Development and Wiring
Joaquin Espinosa, PhD
joaquin.espinosa@colorado.edu
University of Colorado, Boulder,
Boulder, CO
Understanding How the p53 Gene Network Controls the Notorious Behavior of Cancer Cells
Stanley Fields, PhD
fields@u.washington.edu
University of Washington,
Seattle, WA
Technologies for Protein Analysis
Erol Fikrig, MD
lynn.gambardella@yale.edu
Yale School of Medicine,
New Haven, CT
Vector-Pathogen-Host Interactions
Elaine Fuchs, PhD
fuchs@rockefeller.edu
Rockefeller University,
New York, NY
Stem Cells and Their Lineages in Skin
David Ginsburg, MD
labun@umich.edu
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI Molecular Genetics of Blood Clotting
Susan Golden, PhD
sgolden@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego,
La Jolla, CA
Research Abstract Unavailable
Michael Green, MD, PhD
michael.green@umassmed.edu
University of Massachusetts Medical School,
Worcester, MA
Eukaryotic Gene Regulation and Cancer Molecular Biology
Helen Hobbs, MD
helen.hobbs@utsouthwestern.edu
UT Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Human Genetics of Lipoprotein Metabolism
Barry Honig, PhD
bh6@columbia.edu
Columbia University,
New York, NY
Computational Studies of the Structure and Function of Biological Macromolecules
Neil Hunter, PhD
nhunter@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis,
Davis, CA
Regulating Joint Molecule Intermediates During Homologous Recombination
Ken Irvine, PhD
irvine@waksman.rutgers.edu
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey,
Piscataway, NJ
Control of Tissue Patterning and Growth During Development
William Jacobs, Jr., PhD
jacobsw@hhmi.org
Albert Einstein College of Medicine,
Bronx, NY
XDR-TB: Survival of the Fittest
Yuh-Nung Jan, PhD
Monika.Avdeef@ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Neuronal Morphogenesis and Circuit Assembly
Vivek Jayaraman, PhD
vivek@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, VA Circuit Principles Underlying Sensorimotor Integration in Drosophila
Youxing Jiang, PhD
Youxing.Jiang@UTSouthwestern.edu
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Ion Channels and Transporters
Simon John, PhD
simon.john@jax.org
Jackson Laboratory,
Bar Harbor, ME
The Molecular Basis of Glaucoma
Alex Kolodkin, PhD
areal1@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Establishment of Neuronal Connectivity
Luke Lavis, PhD
lavisl@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
Tailoring Fluorescent Molecules for Biological Applications 
Robert Lefkowitz, MD
lefko001@receptor-biol.duke.edu
Duke University,
Durham, NC
Molecular Biology of Hormone and Drug Receptors in Health and Disease
Dan Littman, MD, PhD
dan.littman@med.nyu.edu
New York University School of Medicine,
New York, NY
Regulation of T Cell Differentiation and Mechanisms of HIV Interactions with Host Cells
Richard Locksley, MD
locksley@medicine.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Tracking the Foundations of Allergic Immunity
Randall Moon, PhD
rtmoon@uw.edu
University of Washington School of Medicine,
Seattle, WA
Wnt Signal Transduction Networks: From Molecules to Medicine
Michel Nussenzweig, MD, PhD
nussen@mail.rockefeller.edu
Rockefeller University,
New York, NY
Immunity and Tolerance
Baldomero Olivera, PhD
olivera@biology.utah.edu
University of Utah,
Salt Lake City, UT
Research Abstract Unavailable
David Page, MD
jhughes@wi.mit.edu
Whitehead Institute,
Cambridge, MA
The Origins of Sexual Dimorphism in the Mammalian Genome and Germline
Duojia Pan, PhD
djpan@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Control of Organ Size and Tumorigenesis by the Hippo Signaling Pathway
David Pellman, MD
Harriet_scott@dfci.harvard.edu
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute,
Boston, MA
Aneuploidy, Polyploidy, and Cancer
Norbert Perrimon, PhD
perrimon@receptor.med.harvard.edu
Harvard Medical School,
Boston, MA
Physiological and Regenerative Homeostasis in Drosophila
Christopher Plowe, MD
neddingt@medicine.umaryland.edu
University of Maryland, Baltimore, School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Genetic Diversity and Malaria Drug Vaccine Efficacy
Louis Ptacek, MD
ljp@ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine,
San Francisco, CA
Translational Human Neurogenetics
Danny Reinberg, PhD
michele.giunta@nyumc.org
New York University School of Medicine,
New York, NY
The Regulation of Gene Expression in the Context of Chromatin
Rebecca Richards-Kortum, PhD
rkortum@rice.edu
Rice University,
Houston, TX
Research Abstract Unavailable
Michael Rosbash, PhD
kkerr@brandeis.edu
Brandeis University,
Waltham, MA
Molecular Genetics of Circadian Rhythms
Robert Sah, MD, ScD
rsah@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego,
San Diego, CA
Cartilage Tissue Engineering
Amita Sehgal, PhD
zhengx@upenn.edu
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania,
Philadelphia, PA
Circadian Rhythms and Sleep 
Christine Seidman, MD
bartlett@genetics.med.harvard.edu
Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA Genetic Etiologies and Molecular Mechanisms of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy: Strategies to Predict and Prevent Disease
Terrence Sejnowski, PhD
terry@salk.edu
Salk Institute for Biological Studies,
La Jolla, CA
Computational Neurobiology
Robert Siliciano, MD, PhD
rsiliciano@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Mechanisms of HIV Persistence
Nelson Spruston, PhD
frankom@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
How Do Neurons Compute Output from Their Inputs?
Joan Steitz, PhD
joan.steitz@yale.edu
Yale University,
New Haven, CT
RNA Machines of the Mammalian Cell Nucleus
Thomas Südhof, MD
tcs1@stanford.edu
Stanford University School of Medicine,
Stanford, CA
Synapse Formation and Function
Joseph Takahashi, PhD
Joseph.Takahashi@utsouthwestern.edu
UT Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Molecular and Genetic Analysis of Mammalian Circadian Clocks
Matthew Waldor, MD, PhD
mwaldor@research.bwh.harvard.edu
Brigham and Women's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Cell Biology and Virulence of Enteric Pathogens
Christopher Walsh, MD, PhD
shirley.bernard@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Development of the Human Cerebral Cortex
Matthew Warman, MD
matthew.warman@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Biological Pathways Important for Skeletal Growth and Homeostasis
Wayne Yokoyama, MD
lschwartz@dom.wustl.edu
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis,
St. Louis, MO
Natural Killer Cell Tolerance for Self
Muhammad Zaman, PhD
zaman@bu.edu
Boston University,
Boston, MA
Research Abstract Unavailable