Skip to main content

With a goal of increasing institutional capacity for inclusion of all students in science, Inclusive Excellence 3 has created a learning community of faculty, staff, students, and administrators committed to collaborating in this effort.  

The 134 participating institutions work together in seven “learning community clusters” aimed at creating inclusive STEM learning environments. The learning clusters focus on new approaches to the content of introductory science courses, evaluation of effective and inclusive teaching, and partnerships between 2- and 4-year institutions.  

IE3 will award a total of more than $60M over six years.  Each learning cluster receives $8-9 million over six years to collectively explore what it takes to build institutional capacity for inclusion by implementing and evaluating ideas and sharing their learnings. 

 All HHMI Programs


Challenges and Participating Institutions

Content of the introductory science experience, which embodies inclusive learning.

Learning Community Cluster 1 will implement three coordinated projects: faculty training in the core values of equity, social justice, inclusivity, and anti-racism; elevate the student voice, improve the student experience, and situate students as agents of change through engagement and leadership; and engage faculty, staff, and students in the process of making sustainable changes to curricular offerings within introductory courses.

California State University-Stanislaus
Dalton State College
Empire State University
Fordham University
Franklin & Marshall College
Furman University
Gannon University
Haverford College
Illinois State University
Middlebury College
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Trinity University
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus
University of California-Riverside

University of California-Santa Cruz


Learning Community Cluster 2 will work on projects spanning three areas: institutionalize professional development practices and resources to create safe, equitable, and supportive teaching and learning communities; establish collaborative processes for evaluating and redesigning introductory STEM courses; and create peer-to-peer cultures of support through student connections.

Elon University
Fairfield University
Fisk University
Fort Lewis College
Hamilton College (New York)
Oglethorpe University
Otterbein University
Portland State University
Simmons University
University of Alaska Anchorage
University of Iowa
University of Minnesota-Morris
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
Xavier University (Ohio)


Learning Community Cluster 3 aims to shift institutions from deficit- to achievement-oriented thinking and practices through five overlapping areas of activity: continuing education, inclusive curricula, student empowerment, inclusive collaboration, and broader approaches to institutional transformation.

Allegheny College
Auburn University at Montgomery
California State University-East Bay
College of the Holy Cross
Emmanuel College (Massachusetts)
Hartwick College
Mount Holyoke College
Nebraska Wesleyan University
Rollins College
St. John’s University-New York
University of Akron Main Campus
University of Kansas
University of Virginia-Main Campus
Vanderbilt University

Meaningful evaluation of effective and inclusive teaching, which will inform faculty practices, including promotion and tenure decisions.

Learning Community Cluster 4 will focus on three projects that will: develop policy around inclusive and effective teaching and make it relevant for promotions and tenure; identify and employ models, tools, and approaches to work with instructors to advance their use of inclusive teaching practices; develop tools and practices that make meaningful progress toward the robust use of holistic evidence to evaluate teaching.

Bryn Mawr College
Georgia Gwinnett College
Georgia Southern University
Gettysburg College
Gustavus Adolphus College
North Carolina A & T State University
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
Pomona College
Providence College
University of Georgia
University of La Verne
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
University of Oregon
University of Portland
Whittier College


Learning Community Cluster 5 will work on six projects to understand, promote, and evaluate inclusive teaching: belongingness in STEM; data to support and evaluate change; data to drive change; pathways to faculty incentivization, reward, and evaluation structures; common definitions; and faculty development.

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
Centre College
Cleveland State University
Coker University
Drexel University
Georgia State University
Lane College
Marian University (Indiana)
Occidental College
The College of Wooster
University of California-Irvine
University of Connecticut
University of Mississippi
University of Richmond
West Virginia University


Learning Community Cluster 6 will engage in cycles of learning which will support inquiry and iterative growth as they implement three projects: evaluation of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Justice, and Access (DEIJA) teaching and learning; data-informed improvement of DEIJA outcomes; and professional development for DEIJA teaching and learning.

Boise State University
College of Saint Benedict
CUNY Queens College
Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
National University
Northwestern University
Skidmore College
St. Mary’s College of Maryland
Tuskegee University
Union College (New York)
University of Maryland College Park
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
University of Pennsylvania
University of Rhode Island
Willamette University

Effective partnerships between 2- and 4-year institutions, which grow from existing relationships.

Learning Community Cluster 7 (the IMPACT STEM Transfer Network), comprising 15 four-year institutions and 30 two-year college partners, will forge meaningful relationships, empower and support students, work together to enhance curricula, and ensure effective administration of transfer.

Four-Year Institutions Partner Institutions
Clemson University Tri-County Technical College and South Carolina Technical College System
Florida International University Broward College
Florida State University Tallahassee Community College
Howard University Anne Arundel Community College
King University Northeast State Community College and Virginia Highlands Community College
Michigan State University Lansing Community College
Monmouth College Illinois Central College
Montana State University Blackfeet Community College and Little Big Horn College
Rowan University Rowan College of South Jersey Cumberland Campus, Rowan College of South Jersey Gloucester Campus, and Rowan College at Burlington County
State University of New York at New Paltz Dutchess Community College
University of Colorado Boulder Front Range Community College – Westminster Campus and Front Range Community College - Boulder County Campus
University of Nevada-Reno College of Southern Nevada, Great Basin College, Nevada State University, Truckee Meadows Community College, and Western Nevada College
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Milwaukee Area Technical College
University of Wyoming Casper College, Eastern Wyoming College, Laramie County Community College, Northwest College, Western Wyoming Community College
Washington State University-Vancouver Clark College and Lower Columbia College