HHMI scientists are among 84 newly elected members.

Fourteen Howard Hughes Medical Institute scientists were elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences today. They are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries elected today in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. In addition to the newly elected members, 169 current HHMI scientists are members of the Academy.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The HHMI scientists newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences are:

HHMI Investigators

Jean-Laurent Casanova (Foreign Member)

The Rockefeller University

Catherine Dulac

Harvard University

Taekjip Ha

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Sheng Yang He

Michigan State University

Lora V. Hooper

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Christine Jacobs-Wagner

Yale University

Jeannie T. Lee

Massachusetts General Hospital

Randall T. Moon

University of Washington

Eva Nogales

University of California, Berkeley

Danny Reinberg

New York University

Leslie B. Vosshall

The Rockefeller University

HHMI Professor

Rebecca Richards-Kortum

Rice University

Group Leaders

Eric Betzig

Janelia Research Campus

Karel Svoboda

Janelia Research Campus

For More Information

Jim Keeley 301.215.8858