HHMI scientists are among 84 newly elected members and 21 foreign associates.

Ten Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators and one HHMI professor have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. They are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries elected today in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. In addition to the newly elected members, 182 current HHMI scientists are members of the Academy.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The HHMI scientists newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences are:

HHMI Investigators

Joseph DeRisi

University of California, San Francisco

Raymond Deshaies

California Institute of Technology

Nathaniel Heintz

The Rockefeller University

Hopi Hoekstra

Harvard University

Kenneth Murphy

Washington University in St. Louis

Krishna Niyogi

University of California, Berkeley

David Sabatini

Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research

Amita Sehgal

University of Pennsylvania

Geraldine Seydoux

The Johns Hopkins University

Michael Summers

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

HHMI Professor

Bonnie Bartel

Rice University

For More Information

Jim Keeley 301.215.8858