Applicants to the Medical Research Fellows Program are encouraged to contact one or more of the following HHMI scientists or HHMI Program Alumni (denoted with asterisk), who are interested in hosting a Medical Fellow in their lab.

Investigator

Contact Email

Institution
/Location

Research

Susan Ackerman, PhD

llincoln@ucsd.edu

University of California, San Diego,

San Diego, CA

Identification of the Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Neurodegeneration

Alexei Aravin, PhD

aravin@caltech.edu

California Institute of Technology,

Pasadena, CA

Small RNAs as Determinants of Epigenetic States

Michel Bagnat, PhD

m.bagnat@cellbio.duke.edu

Duke University,

Durham, NC

Organism-wide Nutrient Sensing by a Specialized Population of Enterocytes

David Baker, PhD

ipdadmin@uw.edu

University of Washington,

Seattle, WA

Design of New Functional Proteins

Emily Balskus, PhD

baslkus@chemistry.harvard.edu

Harvard University,

Cambridge, MA

Microbial Metabolism

David Barbie, MD*

dbarbie@partners.org

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute,

Boston, MA

Innate Immunity and Cancer

James C. A. Bardwell, PhD

jbardwel@umich.edu

University of Michigan,

Ann Arbor, MI

Optimization of Protein Folding In Vivo

Diana Bautista, PhD

dbautista@berkeley.edu

University of California, Berkeley,

Berkeley, CA

Elucidating the mechanisms of touch, pain and itch

Hugo Bellen, DVM, PhD

hbellen@bcm.edu

Baylor College of Medicine,

Houston, TX

The Demise of Neurons

Günter Blobel, MD, PhD

coutave@rockefeller.edu

The Rockefeller University,

New York, NY

Structure and Dynamics of the Nuclear Pore Complex

Jesse Bloom, PhD

jbloom@fredhutch.org

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center,

Seattle, WA

The Molecular Evolution of Proteins and Viruses

Michael Brainard, PhD

Msb@phy.ucsf.edu

University of California, San Francisco,

San Francisco, CA

Neural and Genetic Mechanisms of Motor Skill Learning

Fernando Camargo, PhD

camargo@fas.harvard.edu

Boston Children's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Adult Stem Cell Biology, Organ Size Regulation, and Cancer

Kevin P. Campbell, PhD

kevin-campbell@uiowa.edu

University of Iowa,

Iowa City, Iowa

The Molecular and Cellular Basis of Muscular Dystrophy

Jean-Laurent Casanova, MD, PhD

yene399@rockefeller.edu

Rockefeller University,

New York, NY

Life-Threatening Infectious Diseases of Childhood: Single-Gene Inborn Errors of Immunity?

Thomas R. Cech, PhD

konyhal@hhmi.org

University of Colorado Boulder,

Boulder, CO

Telomerase and Long Noncoding RNA-Protein Complexes

Constance L. Cepko, PhD

cepko@genetics.med.harvard.edu

Harvard Medical School,

Boston, MA

Development and Degeneration of the Vertebrate Retina

Edward Chang, MD*

edward.chang@ucsf.edu

University of California, San Francisco,

San Francisco, CA

Human Brain Mechanisms of Language and Mood

Herb Chen, MD*

herbchen@uab.edu

University of Alabama at Birmingham,

Birmingham, AL

Development of Novel Therapies for endocrine/neuroendocrine malignancies

Vivian Cheung, MD

vgcheung@med.umich.edu

University of Michigan,

Ann Arbor, MI

Human Genetics of Complex Phenotypes and Gene Regulation

Daniel Colón-Ramos, PhD

daniel.colon-ramos@yale.edu

Yale University,

New Haven, CT

The Cell Biology of the Synapse and Behavior

Jason G. Cyster, PhD

claire.chan@ucsf.edu

University of California, San Francisco,

San Francisco, CA

Cell Migration and Communication in the Immune System

Yang Dan, PhD

ydan@berkeley.edu

University of California, Berkeley,

Berkeley, CA

Neural Circuits Controlling Sleep

Brian Druker, MD

tognon@ohsu.edu

Oregon Health & Science University,

Portland, OR

Mechanism-Based Therapy for Leukemia

Victoria D'Souza, PhD

dsouza@mcb.harvard.edu

Harvard University,

Cambridge, MA

Structural Determinants of Reverse Transcription and Gene Translation in Retroviruses

Joshua Dudman, PhD

hartl@janelia.hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

Cellular and Circuit Computations Underlying Reinforced Behavior

Maitreya Dunham, PhD

maitreya@uw.edu

University of Washington,

Seattle, WA

Structure and Function of Genetic Networks in Yeast

Michael B. Elowitz, PhD

jleonard@caltech.edu

California Institute of Technology,

Pasadena, CA

Dynamic Gene Circuits at the Single-Cell Level

Elizabeth Engle, MD

Tammy.Chu@childrens.harvard.edu

Boston Children's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Human Disorders of Cranial Motor Neuron Development and Wiring

Ronald M. Evans, PhD

CBRONDOS@SALK.EDU

Salk Institute for Biological Studies,

La Jolla, CA

Nuclear Receptors in Physiology and Disease

Todd Fehniger, MD, PhD*

tfehnige@wustl.edu

Washington University in St. Louis,

St. Louis, MO

Natural Killer Cell Biology and Cancer Immunotherapy

Robert Ferris, MD, PhD*

ferrrl@upmc.edu

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,

Pittsburgh, PA

Mechanisms of PD-1 and TIM-3 Crosstalk in Tumor-Infiltrating Lymphocytes

Michael Fischbach, PhD

fischbach@fischbachgroup.org

Stanford University,

Stanford, CA

Small Molecules from the Human Microbiota

Sarah Fortune, MD*

sfortune@hsph.harvard.edu

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health,

Boston, MA

Molecular pathogenesis of bacterial infections

Loren M. Frank, PhD

Anna.Kiseleva@ucsf.edu

University of California, San Francisco,

San Francisco, CA

Neural Circuits Underlying Learning, Remembering, and Deciding

Robert Froemke, PhD

robert.froemke@med.nyu.edu

New York University School of Medicine,

New York, NY

Systems Physiology, Neural Plasticity, and Hormone Signaling

David Ginsburg, MD

siemieni@umich.edu

University of Michigan,

Ann Arbor, MI

Molecular Genetics of Blood Clotting

Antonio Giraldez, PhD

hiba.codore@yale.edu

Yale University,

New Haven, CT

Using Genomics to Understand the Mechanisms of Gene Regulation in Animal Development

Joseph Gleeson, MD

gleesonadmin@ucsd.edu

University of California, San Diego,

La Jolla, CA

Developmental Brain Disorders

Stephen P. Goff, PhD

ml2375@cumc.columbia.edu

Columbia University,

New York, NY

Retrovirus Replication

Susan Golden, PhD

sgolden@ucsd.edu

University of California, San Diego,

La Jolla, CA

Circadian Rhythms

Eric Gouaux, PhD

gouauxe@ohsu.edu

Oregon Health & Science University,

Portland, OR

Molecular Mechanisms of Receptors and Transporters

Michael R. Green, MD, PhD

michael.green@umassmed.edu

University of Massachusetts Medical School,

Worcester MA

Eukaryotic Gene Regulation and Cancer Molecular Biology

Taekjip Ha, PhD

tjha@jhu.edu

Johns Hopkins University,

Baltimore, MD

Single-Molecule Studies of Genomic Maintenance

Min Han, PhD

aileen.sewell@colorado.edu

University of Colorado Boulder,

Boulder, CO

Functional Analysis of Metabolic Events, Cell Signaling, and Gene Expression During Animal Development and Stress Response

Chuan He, PhD

chuanhe@uchicago.edu

University of Chicago,

Chicago, IL

Reversible RNA and DNA Methylation

Sheng Yang He, PhD

hes@msu.edu

Michigan State University,

East Lansing, MI

Pathogen Virulence, Stomatal Immunity, and Jasmonate Signaling in Plant Disease

Ekaterina Heldwein, PhD

katya.heldwein@tufts.edu

Tufts University School of Medicine,

Boston, MA

Molecular Mechanisms of Host Manipulation by Herpesviruses

Helen Hobbs, MD

helen.hobbs@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern Medical Center,

Dallas, TX

Disorders of Lipid Trafficking and Metabolism

Hopi Hoekstra, PhD

nhughes@fas.harvard.edu

Harvard University,

Cambridge, MA

The Molecular Basis of Evolutionary Change in Morphology and Behavior

André Hoelz, PhD

hoelz@caltech.edu

California Institute of Technology,

Pasadena, CA

Architecture of the Symmetric Core of the Nuclear Pore

Neil Hunter, PhD

nhunter@ucdavis.edu

University of California, Davis,

Davis, CA

Meiotic Recombination: The Essence of Heredity

William R. Jacobs Jr., PhD

jacobsw@hhmi.org

Albert Einstein College of Medicine,

Bronx, NY

Tuberculosis and Herpes: Persistent Infections of Man

Vivek Jayaraman, PhD

vivek@janelia.hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

Circuit Principles Underlying Sensorimotor Integration in Drosophila

Simon John, PhD

Mimi.devries@jax.org

The Jackson Laboratory,

Bar Harbor, ME

The Molecular Basis of Glaucoma

Katrin Karbstein, PhD

kkarbst@scripps.edu

The Scripps Research Institute,

La Jolla, CA

Quality Control and Regulation of Ribosome Assembly

Robert Lefkowitz, MD

quivetta@receptor-biol.duke.edu

Duke University Medical Center,

Durham, NC

Molecular Biology of Hormone and Drug Receptors in Health and Disease

Ross Levine, MD*

leviner@mskcc.org

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center,

New York, NY

Genetics and Therapy of Myeloid Malignancies

Stephen Liberles, PhD

Stephen_Liberles@hms.harvard.edu

Harvard Medical School,

Boston, MA

Internal and External Sensory Systems

Hening Lin, PhD

hl379@cornell.edu

Cornell University,

Ithaca, NY

Biochemistry and Regulatory Functions of Enzymes

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, PhD

ottc@janelia.hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

Subcellular Function and Organelle Dynamics

Dan R. Littman, MD, PhD

dan.littman@med.nyu.edu

New York University School of Medicine,

New York, NY

Regulation of T Cell Development and Microbiota-Instructed Effector Functions in Homeostasis and Systemic Inflammatory Disease

Stavros Lomvardas, PhD

sl682@columbia.edu

Columbia University,

New York, NY

Gene Regulation of Olfaction

Loren L. Looger, PhD

loogerl@janelia.hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

Engineering Proteins in the Brain

Karolin Luger, PhD

karolin.luger@colorado.edu

University of Colorado Boulder,

Boulder, CO

Structure and Dynamics of Chromatin

David Lynn, PhD

dlynn2@emory.edu

Emory University,

Atlanta, GA

Chemical Biology

John D. MacMicking, PhD

nargip@hhmi.org

Yale University,

New Haven, CT

Cellular Self-Defense

Joshua Mendell, MD, PhD

Joshua.Mendell@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern Medical Center,

Dallas, TX

MicroRNAs and Other Noncoding RNAs in Development and Disease

Elliot M. Meyerowitz, PhD

meyerow@caltech.edu

California Institute of Technology,

Pasadena, CA

Genetic, Genomic, and Computational Studies of Plant Stem Cells

Danesh Moazed, PhD

danesh@hms.harvard.edu

Harvard Medical School,

Boston, MA

Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression and Genome Stability

Goutham Narla, MD, PhD*

gxn71@case.edu

Case Western Reserve University,

Cleveland, OH

Small Molecule Activators of PP2A (SMAPS) for Prostate Cancer Therapy

Jacquin Niles, MD, PhD

jcniles@mit.edu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology,

Cambridge, MA

Functional Genetics in Plasmodium falciparum

Evgeny Nudler, PhD

evgeny.nudler@nyumc.org

New York University,

New York, NY

Cellular Stress Responses

Benjamin Ohlstein, MD, PhD

bo2160@cumc.columbia.edu

Columbia University Medical Center,

New York, NY

Identification of Novel Mechanisms Underlying Tissue Homeostasis

Baldomero M. Olivera, PhD

olivera@biology.utah.edu

University of Utah,

Salt Lake City, UT

Peptide Neuropharmacology

Aydogan Ozcan, PhD

ozcan@ucla.edu

University of California, Los Angeles,

Los Angeles, CA

Program for Translational Biophotonics and Telemedicine Technologies

Duojia Pan, PhD

duojia.pan@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern Medical Center,

Dallas, TX

Control of Organ Size and Tumorigenesis by the Hippo Signaling Pathway

Tanya T. Paull, PhD

tpaull@utexas.edu

University of Texas at Austin,

Austin, TX

Biochemical Analysis of DNA Damage and Oxidative Stress Responses

Norbert Perrimon, PhD

perrimon@receptor.med.harvard.edu

Harvard Medical School,

Boston, MA

Communication Between Cells and Organs in Drosophila

Samuel L. Pfaff, PhD

gwhitman@salk.edu

Salk Institute for Biological Studies,

La Jolla, CA

Development and Degeneration of Spinal Cord Connections That Underlie Movement

Manu Prakash, PhD

Christine.kurihara@stanford.edu

Stanford University,

Stanford, CA

 

Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa, MD*

Lopez.Haydee@mayo.edu

Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville,

Jacksonville, FL

Molecular Engines of Cell Migration and Therapeutics in Cancer

Jayaraj Rajagopal, MD

JRAJAGOPAL@mgh.harvard.edu

Harvard Medical School,

Boston, MA

Lung Regeneration and Disease

Michael Rape, PhD

mrape@berkeley.edu

University of California, Berkeley,

Berkeley, CA

Ubiquitin-dependent Control of Cell Division and Differentiation

Michael Reiser, PhD

reiserm@janelia.hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

Drosophila Flight Control

Jeremy Rich, MD*

jerich@ucsd.edu

University of California, San Diego,

San Diego, CA

Stem-like Glioma Cells in Angiogenesis

Rebecca Richards-Kortum, PhD

rkortum@rice.edu

Rice University,

Houston, TX

Health-Care Technology Development and Assessment: Integrating Research and Undergraduate Education in Biomedical Engineering

Michael Rosbash, PhD

jsherk@brandeis.edu

Brandeis University,

Waltham, MA

Circadian Rhythms, Neurons, and Sleep

Michael Rosenfeld, MD

mrosenfeld@ucsd.edu

University of California, San Diego,

San Diego, CA

Enhancer and Architectural Mechanisms in Regulated Gene Transcriptional Programs in Homeostasis and Disease

Carla Rothlin, PhD

carla.rothlin@yale.edu

Yale University,

New Haven, CT

Immunology/Innate Immune Checkpoints in Anti-tumor Immunity

Jared Rutter, PhD

sarah.fogarty@biochem.utah.edu

University of Utah,

Salt Lake City, UT

Biochemistry and Function of Mitochondrial Proteins

Pardis C. Sabeti, DPhil, MD

mjbutts@broadinstitute.org

Harvard University,

Cambridge, MA

Computational Methods to Understand Genetic Adaptation in Humans and Pathogens

Robert Sah, MD, ScD

rsah@ucsd.edu

University of California, San Diego,

San Diego, CA

Cartilage Tissue Engineering

Stuart Schreiber, PhD

aroach@broadinstitute.org

Harvard University,

Cambridge, MA

Chemical Biology

Nima Sharifi, MD*

sharifn@ccf.org

Cleveland Clinic,

Cleveland, OH

Prostate cancer and metabolic mechanisms of hormone therapy resistance.

Jay Shendure, MD, PhD

mgillies@uw.edu

University of Washington,

Seattle, WA

Technologies and Methods to Advance Genetics and Genomics

Agata Smogorzewska, MD, PhD

asmogorzewska@rockefeller.edu

The Rockefeller University,

New York, NY

Genome Stability and Cancer

Nelson Spruston, PhD

sprustonn@janelia.hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

How Do Neurons Compute Output from Their Inputs?

Kimberly Stegmaier, MD*

kimberly_stegmaier@dfci.harvard.edu

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Boston Children's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Cancer Genomics

Thomas Südhof, MD

tcs1@stanford.edu

Stanford University School of Medicine,

Stanford, CA

Synapse Formation and Function

Joseph Takahashi, PhD

Shelley.Dixon@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern Medical Center,

Dallas, TX

Molecular and Genetic Analysis of Mammalian Circadian Clocks

Sohail Tavazoie, MD, PhD

enishiuchi@rockefeller.edu

Rockefeller University,

New York, NY

Investigating the Roles of Small-RNAs in Metastatic Progression and Gene Expression Regulation

J. Paul Taylor, MD, PhD

jpaul.taylor@stjude.org

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital,

Memphis, TN

Nervous System Function in Development and Disease

David Ting, MD*

dting1@mgh.harvard.edu

Massachusetts General Hospital,

Boston, MA

Transcriptional Behavior of Pancreatic Cancer

Robert Tjian, PhD

tjianrtn@ hhmi.org

University of California, Berkeley,

Berkeley, CA

Mechanisms of Gene Regulation

Allan Tsung, MD*

tsunga@upmc.edu

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,

Pittsburgh, PA

Inflammation-induced Tumorigenesis

Matthew Vander Heiden, MD, PhD

mvh@mit.edu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology,

Cambridge, MA

Regulation of Glucose Metabolism to Allow Tumor Initiation and Growth

Matthew Waldor, MD, PhD

mwaldor@research.bwh.harvard.edu

Brigham and Women's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Cell Biology and Virulence of Enteric Pathogens

Bruce D. Walker, MD

gberger1@mgh.harvard.edu

Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard,

Boston, MA

Immune Control in Chronic Human Viral Infections

Christopher A. Walsh, MD, PhD

rshill.wl@gmail.com

Boston Children's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Development of the Human Cerebral Cortex

David R. Walt, PhD

dwalt@bwh.harvard.edu

Harvard Medical School,

Boston, MA

 

Peter Walter, PhD

christine@walterlab.ucsf.edu

University of California, San Francisco,

San Francisco, CA

The Unfolded Protein Response and Beyond

Jade Wang, PhD

wang@bact.wisc.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison,

Madison, WI

Regulation of Central Dogma Processes in Bacterial Species

Catherine Wu, MD*

Cwu@partners.org

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute,

Boston, MA

Tumor and host co-evolution in CLL, Neoantigens, Cancer Vaccines

Muhammad Zaman, PhD

clifford@bu.edu

Boston University,

Boston, MA

The Q-EPIC Program in Biomedical Engineering: Quality, Exposure, Policy, Innovation and Implementation in Context

Yi Zhang, PhD

yzhang@genetics.med.harvard.edu

Boston Children's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Mechanism and Function of Epigenetic Modifications

Marta Zlatic, PhD

Zlaticm@hhmi.org

Janelia Research Campus,

Ashburn, VA

Neural and Genetic Basis of Behavior in Drosophila Larvae

Huda Zoghbi, MD

hzoghbi@bcm.edu

Baylor College of Medicine,

Houston, TX

Genetic Studies of Neurodevelopment and Neurodegeneration

Leonard Zon, MD

hdicicco@enders.tch.harvard.edu

Boston Children's Hospital,

Boston, MA

Developmental Regulation of Hematopoiesis

Connect with Us

  medfellows@hhmi.org

  301-951-6708

Program Dates

The 2018 application is closed.

November 1, 2017 (Janelia only)
Prescreening application deadline

Early December (Janelia only)
Interviews for selected candidates

December 11, 2017 (Janelia only)
Interviewees notified of outcome

January 11, 2018, 2 p.m. ET
Application deadline

March 16, 2018
Award notification

March 23, 2018
Acceptance deadline

May 1 - September 1, 2018
Fellowship begins 

Science Education Awards

View our current and past awardees.

Search