The Science Education Advisory Board counsels HHMI on challenges and opportunities in science education, relative to the Institute’s programs. The board includes leaders representing a range of higher education perspectives and experiences. The board meets regularly, providing counsel ranging from broad considerations to the specific structure of programs.


  • Janet Carlson, PhD
    Associate Professor (Research)
    Director, Center to Support Excellence in Teaching
    Stanford Graduate School of Education
  • Vicki L. Chandler, PhD
    Dean of Natural Sciences
    Minerva Schools at KGI
  • Sean Decatur, PhD
    Kenyon College
  • Valentine Kass, PhD
    Program Director
    Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings
    + EHR Liaison to Polar Division
    National Science Foundation
  • George M. Langford, PhD
    Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience
    Professor of Biology, Biology Department
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Syracuse University
  • Mary Ann Rankin, PhD
    Senior Vice President and Provost
    University of Maryland
  • Eugenie C. Scott, PhD
    Founding Executive Director
    National Center for Science Education, Inc.
  • Neil Shubin, PhD
    Senior Advisor to the President
    Robert R. Bensley Distinguished Service Professor of Anatomy
    The University of Chicago