Medical Research Fellows Program Mentors

Applicants to the Year-Long Medical Research Fellows Program are encouraged to contact one or more of the following HHMI investigators or early career scientists, who are interested in hosting a Medical Fellow in their lab.

Investigator Institution/Location Research
Paul Ahlquist, PhD
JdenBoon@morgridge.org
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI
Virus Replication and Virus-Host Interactions
Fred Alt, PhD
Kristine.King@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Gene Rearrangement, DNA Repair, Genomic Stability, and Cancer
David  Anderson, PhD
mancusog@caltech.edu
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA
Neural Circuits for Innate, "Emotional" Behaviors in Flies and Mice
David Baker, PhD
dabaker@uw.edu
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Design of New Functional Proteins
Utpal Banerjee, PhD
win@lifesci.ucla.edu
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Developmental Biology, Genetics
James Bardwell, PhD
jbardwel@umich.edu
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Optimization of Protein Folding In Vivo
Hugo Bellen, DVM, PhD
kschulze@bcm.edu
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
The Demise of Neurons
Vann Bennett, MD, PhD
benne012@mc.duke.edu
Duke University
Durham, NC
Ankyrins and Functional Organization of Membrane-Spanning Proteins in Vertebrate Tissues
Günter Blobel, MD, PhD
coutave@rockefeller.edu
The Rockefeller University
New York, NY
Structure and Dynamics of the Nuclear Pore Complex
Olga Boudker, PhD
olb2003@med.cornell.edu
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY
Structural Biology, Biophysics
Michael Brainard, PhD
Msb@phy.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Neural and Genetic Mechanisms of Motor Skill Learning
Kevin Campbell, PhD
kevin-campbell@uiowa.edu
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
The Molecular and Cellular Basis of Muscular Dystrophy
David Chan, MD, PhD
dchan@caltech.edu
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA
Mitochondrial Dynamics in Development and Disease
Vivian Cheung, MD
vgcheung@umich.edu
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Human Genetics of Complex Phenotypes and Gene Regulation
David Clapham, MD, PhD
dclapham@enders.tch.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Ion Channels and Calcium Signaling
George Daley, MD, PhD
george.daley@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Stem Cells in Development and Disease
Yang Dan, PhD
ydan@berkeley.edu
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Visual Coding and Cortical Plasticity: From Synapse to Perception
Joseph DeRisi, PhD
jennifer@derisilab.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Genomics and Infectious Disease
Abby Dernburg, PhD
hnpham@lbl.gov
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Chromosome Choreography During Meiosis
Hal Dietz, MD
hdietz@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Molecular Determinants of Aortic Aneurysm and Other Manifestations of Connective Tissue Disorders
Xinzhong Dong, PhD
xdong2@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Neuroscience, Immunology
Jennifer Doudna, PhD
jfanderson@berkeley.edu
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Mechanisms of RNA-Controlled Gene Expression
Brian Druker, MD
tognon@ohsu.edu
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Mechanism-Based Therapy for Leukemia
Joshua  Dudman, PhD
daviesh@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA
Cellular and Circuit Computations Underlying Reinforced Behavior
Michael Dyer, PhD 
michael.dyer@stjude.org
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, TN
Coordination of Proliferation and Differentiation During Neurogenesis
Joseph Ecker, PhD 
ecker@salk.edu
Salk Institute
La Jolla, CA
Epigenetic Processes in Plants and People
David Eisenberg, DPhil
david@mbi.ucla.edu
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Protein Interactions in Health and Disease
Elizabeth Engle, MD
engle.admin@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Human Disorders of Cranial Motor Neuron Development and Wiring
Stanley Fields, PhD
fields@u.washington.edu
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Technologies for Protein Analysis
Erol Fikrig, MD
lynn.gambardella@yale.edu
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Vector-Pathogen-Host Interactions
David Ginsburg, MD
labun@umich.edu
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Molecular Genetics of Blood Clotting
Susan Golden, PhD
sgolden@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Research Abstract Unavailable
Eric Gouaux, PhD 
gouauxe@ohsu.edu
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Molecular Mechanisms of Receptors and Transporters
Michael Green, MD, PhD
michael.green@umassmed.edu
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA
Eukaryotic Gene Regulation and Cancer Molecular Biology
Timothy Harris, PhD 
harrist@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA
Tools to Study Neural Circuits and Connections
Chuan He, PhD
chuanhe@uchicago.edu
The University of Chicago
Chicago, IL
Reversible RNA and DNA Methylation
Sheng Yang He, PhD
hes@msu.edu
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
Pathogen Virulence, Stomatal Immunity, and Jasmonate Signaling in Plant Disease
Nathaniel Heintz, PhD
walshj@rockefeller.edu
The Rockefeller University
New York, NY
Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms of Mammalian Brain Function and Dysfunction
Helen Hobbs, MD
helen.hobbs@utsouthwestern.edu
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
Human Genetics of Lipoprotein Metabolism
Oliver Hobert, PhD 
or38@columbia.edu
Columbia University
New York, NY
How to Build a Nervous System
Hopi Hoekstra, PhD 
nhughes@fas.harvard.edu
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
The Molecular Basis of Evolutionary Change in Morphology and Behavior
Neil Hunter, PhD
nhunter@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA
Regulating Joint Molecule Intermediates During Homologous Recombination
Ken Irvine, PhD
irvine@waksman.rutgers.edu
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Piscataway, NJ
Control of Tissue Patterning and Growth During Development
Ralph Isberg, PhD 
kathleen.riendeau@tufts.edu
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, MA
Molecular Genetics of Intracellular Microorganisms
Tyler Jacks, PhD 
kyee@mit.edu
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA
The Use of Gene Targeting in the Mouse to Investigate Cancer Genes
William Jacobs Jr., PhD 
jacobsw@hhmi.org
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, NY
XDR-TB: Survival of the Fittest
Vivek Jayaraman, PhD
vivek@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA
Circuit Principles Underlying Sensorimotor Integration in Drosophila
Youxing Jiang, PhD
Youxing.Jiang@UTSouthwestern.edu
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
Ion Channels and Transporters
Alex Kolodkin, PhD
areal1@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Establishment of Neuronal Connectivity
Robert Lefkowitz, MD
lefko001@receptor-biol.duke.edu
Duke University
Durham, NC
Molecular Biology of Hormone and Drug Receptors in Health and Disease
Leslie Leinwand, PhD 
leinwand@colorado.edu
University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder, CO
Bench to Bedside: The Role of Science in Medicine
Hening Lin, PhD 
hl379@cornell.edu
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY
Biochemistry, Chemical Biology
John MacMicking, PhD
john.macmicking@yale.edu
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Immunology, Microbiology
Harmit Malik, PhD 
hsmalik@fhcrc.org
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA
Investigations of Genetic Conflicts
Joseph Mougous, PhD 
snowbp@uw.edu
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Microbiology
Baldomero Olivera, PhD
olivera@biology.utah.edu
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Research Abstract Unavailable
Aydogan Ozcan, PhD
ozcan@ucla.edu
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Program for Translational Biophotonics and Telemedicine Technologies
David Page, MD
jhughes@wi.mit.edu
Whitehead Institute
Cambridge, MA
The Origins of Sexual Dimorphism in the Mammalian Genome and Germline
Duojia Pan, PhD
djpan@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Control of Organ Size and Tumorigenesis by the Hippo Signaling Pathway
Roy Parker, PhD 
roy.parker@colorado.edu
University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder, CO
Control of mRNA Function in Eukaryotic Cells
Tanya Paull, PhD
tpaull@utexas.edu
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX
Biochemical Analysis of DNA Damage and Oxidative Stress Responses
David Pellman, MD
Harriet_scott@dfci.harvard.edu
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA
Aneuploidy, Polyploidy, and Cancer
Norbert Perrimon, PhD
perrimon@receptor.med.harvard.edu
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
Communication Between Cells and Organs in Drosophila
Michael Reiser, PhD
reiserm@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA
Drosophila Flight Control
Rebecca Richards-Kortum, PhD
rkortum@rice.edu
Rice University
Houston, TX
Research Abstract Unavailable
Michael Rosbash, PhD
kkerr@brandeis.edu
Brandeis University
Waltham, MA
Circadian Rhythms, Neurons, and Sleep
Jared Rutter, PhD
rutter@biochem.utah.edu
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Biochemistry, Genetics
Pardis C. Sabeti, DPhil, MD
mpurdum@broadinstitute.org
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
Computational Genetics
Robert Sah, MD, ScD
rsah@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, CA
Cartilage Tissue Engineering
Stuart Schreiber, PhD
fneville@broadinstitute.org
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
Chemical Biology
Amita Sehgal, PhD
zhengx@upenn.edu
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Circadian Rhythms and Sleep 
Christine Seidman, MD
bartlett@genetics.med.harvard.edu
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA
Genetic Causes of Human Heart Disease
Gerald Shulman, MD, PhD
judy.ho@yale.edu
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Cellular Mechanisms of Insulin Resistance
Nelson Spruston, PhD
sprustonn@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA
How Do Neurons Compute Output from Their Inputs?
Joan Steitz, PhD
joan.steitz@yale.edu
Yale University
New Haven, CT
RNA Machines of the Mammalian Cell Nucleus
Scott Sternson, PhD
hartl@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA
Neural Circuits Controlling Innate Behaviors
Thomas Südhof, MD
tcs1@stanford.edu
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA
Synapse Formation and Function
Mike Summers, PhD
cfinch@umbc.edu
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Baltimore, MD
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Studies of Retrovirus Assembly, Structure, and Genome Packaging
Joseph Takahashi, PhD
Joseph.Takahashi@utsouthwestern.edu
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
Molecular and Genetic Analysis of Mammalian Circadian Clocks
J. Paul Taylor, MD, PhD
jpaul.taylor@stjude.org
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, TN
Molecular Biology, Neuroscience
Thomas Tuschl, PhD 
ttuschl@rockefeller.edu
The Rockefeller University
New York, NY
Mechanisms of Post-transcriptional Gene Regulation in Mammalian Cells
Matthew Waldor, MD, PhD
mwaldor@research.bwh.harvard.edu
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA
Cell Biology and Virulence of Enteric Pathogens
Bruce D. Walker, MD
bwalker@partners.org
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard
Boston, MA
Immune Control in Chronic Human Viral Infections
Christopher Walsh, MD, PhD
shirley.bernard@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Development of the Human Cerebral Cortex
David Walt, PhD 
david.walt@tufts.edu
Tufts University
Medford, MA
Advancing Real-world Research Among Young Scientists
Tobias Walther, PhD 
robert@hsph.harvard.edu
Harvard School of Public Health
Cambridge, MA
Cell Biology, Physiology
Matthew Warman, MD
matthew.warman@childrens.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Biological Pathways Important for Skeletal Growth and Homeostasis
Joanna Wysocka, PhD 
wysocka@stanford.edu
Stanford University
Palo Alto, CA
Developmental Biology, Molecular Biology
Wayne Yokoyama, MD
lschwartz@dom.wustl.edu
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO
Natural Killer Cell Tolerance for Self
Muhammad Zaman, PhD
zaman@bu.edu
Boston University
Boston, MA
Bioengineering, Global Health
Yi Zhang, PhD
yzhang@genetics.med.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Mechanism and Function of Epigenetic Modifications
Huda Zoghbi, MD
emperez@bcm.edu
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
Genetic Studies of Neurodevelopment and Neurodegeneration
Leonard  Zon, MD
hdicicco@enders.tch.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA
Developmental Regulation of Hematopoiesis