Summer Medical Fellows Program Mentors

Applicants to the Summer Medical Fellows Program are encouraged to contact one or more of the following HHMI investigators or early career scientists who are willing to host Summer Medical Fellows in their labs.

Investigator Institution Research
Susan Ackerman, PhD
susan.ackerman@jax.org
Jackson Laboratory,
Bar Harbor, ME
Identification of the Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Neurodegeneration
Fred Alt, PhD
alt@enders.tch.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Gene Rearrangement, DNA Repair, Genomic Stability, and Cancer
Kristi Anseth, PhD
kristi.anseth@colorado.edu
University of Colorado Boulder,
Boulder, CO
Tissue Engineering
David Baker, PhD
dabaker@uw.edu
University of Washington,
Seattle, WA
Design of New Functional Proteins
Utpal Banerjee, PhD
banerjee@mbi.ucla.edu
University of California, Los Angeles,
Los Angeles, CA
Developmental Biology, Genetics
James Bardwell, PhD
jbardwel@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
Optimization of Protein Folding In Vivo
Peter Baumann, PhD
peb@stowers.org
Stowers Institute,
Kansas City, MO
Chromosome Dynamics and Stability
Hugo Bellen, DVM, PhD
kschulze@bcm.edu
Baylor College of Medicine,
Houston, TX
Molecular Mechanisms of Vesicle Trafficking in Neurons and Neural Development
Vann Bennett, MD, PhD
benne012@mc.duke.edu
Duke University, Durham, NC Ankyrins and Functional Organization of Membrane-Spanning Proteins in Vertebrate Tissues
Davi Bock, PhD
bockd@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Farm Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
Network Anatomy and Function of Neuronal Circuits
Martin Burke, MD, PhD
burke@scs.uiuc.edu
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
Urbana, IL
Molecular Prosthetics: Small Molecules That Replicate the Functions of Proteins
Brad Cairns, PhD
brad.cairns@hci.utah.edu
University of Utah,
Salt Lake City, UT
Chromatin-Remodeling Machines and Mechanisms
Kevin Campbell, PhD
kevin-campbell@uiowa.edu
University of Iowa,
Iowa City, IA
Molecular Basis of Muscular Dystrophy
Vivian Cheung, MD
vgcheung@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
Human Genetics of Complex Phenotypes and Gene Regulation
Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD
arul@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
A Search for Gene Fusions in Common Solid Tumors
James Collins, PhD
jcollins@bu.edu
Boston University,
Boston, MA
A Network Biology Approach to Antibiotic Action and Bacterial Defense Mechanisms
David Corey, PhD
dcorey@hms.harvard.edu
Harvard Medical School,
Boston, MA
Force-Gated Ion Channels
Russell DeBose-Boyd, PhD
russell.debose-boyd@utsouthwestern.edu
UT Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Cholesterol Homeostasis and ER-Associated Degradation of HMG-CoA Reductase
Joseph DeRisi, PhD
joe@derisilab.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Genomics and Infectious Disease
Raymond Deshaies, PhD
deshaies@its.caltech.edu
California Institute of Technology,
Pasadena, CA
The Ubiquitin System and Cellular Regulation
Xinnian Dong, PhD
xdong@duke.edu
Duke University,
Durham, NC
Mechanisms and Dynamic Regulation of Plant Immune Responses
Jennifer Doudna, PhD
doudna@berkeley.edu
University of California, Berkeley,
Berkeley, CA
Structural Basis for RNA-Controlled Gene Expression
Catherine Drennan, PhD
ldoughty@mit.edu
MIT,
Cambridge, MA
Snapshots of Metalloenzymes in Action
Gideon Dreyfuss, PhD
gdreyfuss@hhmi.upenn.edu
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania,
Philadelphia, PA
Ribonucleoprotein Complexes: Biogenesis, Function, and Roles in Human Disease
Brian Druker, MD
tognon@ohsu.edu
Oregon Health & Science University,
Portland, OR
Mechanism-Based Therapy for Leukemia
Elizabeth Engle, MD engle.admin@childrens.harvard.edu Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Human Disorders of Cranial Motor Neuron Development and Wiring
Joaquin Espinosa, PhD joaquin.espinosa@colorado.edu University of Colorado at Boulder,
Boulder, CO
Understanding How the p53 Gene Network Controls the Notorious Behavior of Cancer Cells
Susan Ferro-Novick, PhD alougheed@mail.ucsd.edu University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine,
San Diego, CA
Vesicle Traffic and Organelle Inheritance
Stanley Fields, PhD
fields@u.washington.edu
University of Washington,
Seattle, WA
Technologies for Protein Analysis
Erol Fikrig, MD
lynn.gambardella@yale.edu
Yale School of Medicine,
New Haven, CT
Vector-Pathogen-Host Interactions
L. Rene Garcia, PhD
rgarcia@mail.bio.tamu.edu
Texas A&M University,
College Station, TX
Environmental and Genetic Regulation of Motivated Behavior
David Ginsburg, MD
labun@umich.edu
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI
Molecular Genetics of Blood Clotting
Joseph Gleeson, MD
jogleeson@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine,
San Diego, CA
Developmental Brain Disorders
Stephen Goff, PhD
spg1@columbia.edu
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons,
New York, NY
Genetics of Retroviral Replication and Retroviral Oncogenes
Todd Golub, MD
golub@broadinstitute.org
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute,
Boston, MA
Cancer Genomics
Michael Green, MD, PhD
michael.green@umassmed.edu
University of Massachusetts Medical School,
Worcester, MA
Eukaryotic Gene Regulation and Cancer Molecular Biology
Sheng Yang He, PhD
hes@msu.edu
Michigan State University,
East Lansing, MI
Nathaniel Heintz, PhD
walshj@rockefeller.edu
Rockefeller University,
New York, NY
Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms of Mammalian Brain Function and Dysfunction
Helen Hobbs, MD
helen.hobbs@utsouthwestern.edu
UT Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Human Genetics of Lipoprotein Metabolism
Barry Honig, PhD
bh6@columbia.edu
Columbia University,
New York, NY
Computational Studies of the Structure and Function of Biological Macromolecules
Neil Hunter, PhD
nhunter@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis,
Davis, CA
Regulating Joint Molecule Intermediates During Homologous Recombination
Ken Irvine, PhD
irvine@waksman.rutgers.edu
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey,
Piscataway, NJ
Ralph Isberg, PhD
ralph.isberg@tufts.edu
Tufts University School of Medicine,
Boston, MA
Molecular Genetics of Intracellular Microorganisms
William Jacobs, Jr., PhD
jacobsw@hhmi.org
Albert Einstein College of Medicine,
Bronx, NY
XDR-TB: Survival of the Fittest
Lily Jan, PhD
Lily.Jan@ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Potassium Channels and Calcium-Activated Chloride Channels
Erich Jarvis, PhD
renuartt@duke.edu
Duke University Medical Center,
Durham, NC
Molecular Mechanisms of Vocal Learning
Vivek Jayaraman, PhD
vivek@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Farm Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
Circuit Principles Underlying Sensorimotor Integration in Drosophila
Youxing Jiang, PhD
Youxing.Jiang@UTSouthwestern.edu
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Ion Channels and Transporters
Yishi Jin, PhD
yijin@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego,
San Diego, CA
Neural Development, Function, and Regeneration in C. elegans
Simon John, PhD
simon.john@jax.org
Jackson Lab,
Bar Harbor, ME
The Genetics of Intraocular Pressure and Glaucoma
Ananth Karumanchi, MD
sananth@bidmc.harvard.edu
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center,
Boston, MA
Pathogenesis of Preeclampsia and Related Disorders
Jeffrey Kieft, PhD
jeffrey.kieft@ucdenver.edu
University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine,
Denver, CO
RNA Structure, Dynamics, and Function in Healthy and Virally Infected Cells
Rob Knight, PhD
rob@colorado.edu
University of Colorado Boulder,
Boulder, CO
Microbial Etiology and the Human Microbiome
Alex Kolodkin, PhD
kolodkin@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Establishment of Neuronal Connectivity
Robert Lamb, PhD, ScD
ralamb@northwestern.edu
Northwestern University,
Evanston, IL
Structure and Replication of Influenza Virus and Paramyxoviruses
Luke Lavis, PhD
lavisl@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Farm Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
Tailoring Fluorescent Molecules for Biological Applications
Robert Lefkowitz, MD
lefko001@receptor-biol.duke.edu
Duke University,
Durham, NC
Molecular Biology of Hormone and Drug Receptors in Health and Disease
Leslie Leinwand, PhD
leslie.leinwand@colorado.edu
University of Colorado Boulder,
Boulder, CO
Wendell Lim, PhD
lim@cmp.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Design Principles of Cell Signaling Systems
Jeff Magee, PhD
custardv@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Farm Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
Information Processing and Storage Within Neurons
Randall Moon, PhD
rtmoon@uw.edu
University of Washington School of Medicine,
Seattle, WA
Wnt Signal Transduction Networks: From Molecules to Medicine
John Moran, PhD
moranj@umich.edu
University of Michigan Medical School,
Ann Arbor, MI
Studies of a Human Transposable Element
Michel Nussenzweig, MD, PhD nussen@mail.rockefeller.edu Rockefeller University,
New York, NY
Immunity and Tolerance
David Page, MD
jhughes@wi.mit.edu
Whitehead Institute,
Cambridge, MA
The Origins of Sexual Dimorphism in the Mammalian Genome and Germline
Duojia Pan, PhD
djpan@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Control of Organ Size and Tumorigenesis by the Hippo Signaling Pathway
Tanya Paull, PhD
tpaull@utexas.edu
University of Texas at Austin,
Austin, TX
Biochemical Analysis of DNA Damage and Oxidative Stress Responses
David Pellman, MD
Harriet_scott@dfci.harvard.edu
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute,
Boston, MA
Aneuploidy, Polyploidy, and Cancer
Norbert Perrimon, PhD
perrimon@receptor.med.harvard.edu
Harvard Medical School,
Boston, MA
Physiological and Regenerative Homeostasis in Drosophila
Christopher Plowe, MD
neddingt@medicine.umaryland.edu
University of Maryland, Baltimore, School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Genetic Diversity and Malaria Drug Vaccine Efficacy
Danny Reinberg, PhD
michele.giunta@nyumc.org
New York University School of Medicine,
New York, NY
The Regulation of Gene Expression in the Context of Chromatin
Rebecca Richards-Kortum, PhD
rkortum@rice.edu
Rice University,
Houston, TX
Michael Rosbash, PhD
rosbash@brandeis.edu
Brandeis University,
Waltham, MA
Molecular Genetics of Circadian Rhythms
David Sabatini, MD, PhD
emvaleri@wi.mit.edu
Whitehead Institute,
Cambridge, MA
Regulation of Growth and Metabolism in Normal and Diseased Physiology
Robert Sah, MD, ScD
rsah@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego,
San Diego, CA
Amita Sehgal, PhD
zhengx@upenn.edu
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania,
Philadelphia, PA
Circadian Rhythms and Sleep 
Christine Seidman, MD bartlett@genetics.med.harvard.edu Brigham and Women's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Genetic Etiologies and Molecular Mechanisms of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy: Strategies to Predict and Prevent Disease
Terrence Sejnowski, PhD
terry@salk.edu
Salk Institute for Biological Studies,
La Jolla, CA
Computational Neurobiology
Andrey Shaw, MD
ashaw@wustl.edu
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine,
St. Louis, MO
Genetics of Glomerular Disease and Immune Cell Activation
Val Sheffield, MD, PhD
denise-crouch@uiowa.edu
University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine,
Iowa City, IA
The Molecular Genetics of a Human Obesity Syndrome
Gerald Shulman, MD, PhD gerald.shulman@yale.edu Yale School of Medicine,
New Haven, CT
Cellular Mechanisms of Insulin Resistance
Anita Sil, MD, PhD
sil@cgl.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Regulation of Cell Shape and Virulence in Microbes by Temperature
Robert Siliciano, MD, PhD
rsiliciano@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,
Baltimore, MD
Mechanisms of HIV Persistence
Nelson Spruston, PhD
sprustonn@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Farm Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
How Do Neurons Compute Output from Their Inputs?
Hermann Steller, PhD
steller@rockefeller.edu
Rockefeller University,
New York, NY
Regulation of Cell Death and Protein Breakdown
Brent Stockwell, PhD stockwell@biology.columbia.edu Columbia University,
New York, NY
Probing Cell Death with Small Molecules
Thomas Südhof, MD
tcs1@stanford.edu
Stanford University School of Medicine,
Stanford, CA
Synapse Formation and Function
Joseph Takahashi, PhD Joseph.Takahashi@utsouthwestern.edu UT Southwestern Medical Center,
Dallas, TX
Molecular and Genetic Analysis of Mammalian Circadian Clocks
Susan Taylor, PhD
grl014@ucsd.edu
University of California, San Diego,
San Diego, CA
Protein Kinase Structure and Function
Peter Tontonoz, MD, PhD ptontonoz@mednet.ucla.edu University of California, Los Angeles,
Los Angeles, CA
Lipid Signaling Pathways in Physiology and Disease
Wilfred van der Donk, PhD
vddonk@illinois.edu
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
Urbana, IL
Biosynthesis of Natural Products
Matthew Waldor, MD, PhD mwaldor@research.bwh.harvard.edu Brigham and Women's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Cell Biology and Virulence of Enteric Pathogens
Bruce D. Walker, MD
bwalker@partners.org
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard,
Boston, MA
Immune Control in Chronic Human Viral Infections
David Walt, PhD
david.walt@tufts.edu
Tufts University,
Medford, MA
Peter Walter, PhD
peter@walterlab.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Organelle Biogenesis and Protein Sorting
Michelle Wang, PhD
mwang@physics.cornell.edu
Cornell University,
Ithaca, NY
The Dynamics of Accessing DNA
Matthew Warman, MD matthew.warman@childrens.harvard.edu Boston Children's Hospital,
Boston, MA
Biological Pathways Important for Skeletal Growth and Homeostasis
Art Weiss, MD, PhD
aweiss@medicine.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Signal Transduction Events Involved in Lymphocyte Activation and Differentiation
Jonathan Weissman, PhD
weissman@cmp.ucsf.edu
University of California, San Francisco,
San Francisco, CA
Prion-Based Inheritance, Protein Folding, and Analysis of Cellular Systems
Jennifer West, PhD
jennifer.l.west@duke.edu
Duke University,
Durham, NC
Wayne Yokoyama, MD
lschwartz@dom.wustl.edu
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis,
St. Louis, MO
Natural Killer Cell Tolerance for Self
Yi Zhang, PhD
yzhang@genetics.med.harvard.edu
Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA Mechanism and Function of Epigenetic Modifications
Ning Zheng, PhD
nzheng@uw.edu
University of Washington School of Medicine,
Seattle, WA
Structure Biology of Protein Ubiquitination
Larry Zipursky, PhD
lzipursky@mednet.ucla.edu
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA,
Los Angeles, CA
Wiring the Fly Brain
Marta Zlatic, PhD
Zlaticm@janelia.hhmi.org
Janelia Farm Research Campus,
Ashburn, VA
Neural and Genetic Basis of Behavior in Drosophila Larvae
Charles Zuker, PhD
cz2195@columbia.edu
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons,
New York, NY
Seeing, Feeling, and Tasting: Molecular Genetics of Sensory Signal Transduction