Ten HHMI investigators are elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Ten Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators are among 204 new fellows and 16 foreign honorary members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Membership in the American Academy honors individuals who have made prominent contributions to society and to their disciplines, which include mathematics, physics, biological sciences, social sciences, humanities and the arts, public affairs and business. The Academy's broad-based membership gives it a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary studies and public policy research.

This year's new fellows and foreign honorary members include scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders from 11 countries. The Academy will welcome this year's new class at its annual induction ceremony on October 11, 2014, at its headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The newly elected members are:

Arul M. Chinnaiyan
University of Michigan Medical School

Chris Q. Doe
University of Oregon

Nikola P. Pavletich
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Stephen R. Quake
Stanford University

Bernardo L. Sabatini
Harvard Medical School

Charles L. Sawyers
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

David G. Schatz
Yale School of Medicine

M. Celeste Simon
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Wilfred A. van der Donk
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Rachel I. Wilson
Harvard Medical School

For More Information

Jim Keeley 301.215.8858