Nine HHMI investigators and one HHMI Professor are elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Nine Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators and one HHMI Professor are among 220 new members and 17 foreign honorary members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Membership in the Academy honors individuals who have made prominent contributions to society and to their disciplines, which include mathematics, physics, biological sciences, social sciences, humanities and the arts, public affairs and business. The Academy's broad-based membership gives it a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary studies and public policy research.

This year's new fellows and foreign honorary members include scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders from 11 countries. The Academy will welcome this year's new class at its annual induction ceremony on October 6, at its headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

HHMI's newly elected members are:

James J. Collins, Boston University

Brian J. Druker, Oregon Health and Science University

Sarah C. R. Elgin, HHMI Professor, Washington University in St. Louis

Susan Ferro-Novick, University of California-San Diego

Tyler E. Jacks, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Richard P. Lifton, Yale University

Liqun Luo, Stanford University School of Medicine

Danny F. Reinberg, New York University School of Medicine

Brenda A. Schulman, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Steven A. Siegelbaum, Columbia University

For More Information

Jim Keeley 301.215.8858