HomeAbout UsLeadershipScientific Review Board
Scientific Review Board
The Scientific Review Board (SRB) comprises distinguished scientists who participate in the review of Institute investigators for reappointment.

The SRB works with the Medical Advisory Board in this capacity. Their opinions are advisory to the president.

The SRB is constituted to have a breadth of expertise that encompasses that of the HHMI investigators. Typically 25-35 members are sufficient to span the relevant biomedical subfields. The term of appointment of each member is four years. Appointments are made by the vice president who has responsibility for organization of the investigator reviews, subject to approval by the president.

Each SRB member participates in one, or occasionally two, investigator review meetings per year. They are assigned investigator reviews that are aligned with their own scientific expertise. SRB members are also expected to attend one of the Institute's scientific meetings each year.

SRB Members

  • Larry Abbott, PhD
    William Bloor Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience
    Kolb Research Annex
    Columbia University
  • Silvia Arber, PhD
    Professor of Neurobiology and Cell Biology
    Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research
  • Patricia Babbitt, PhD
    Professor and Vice Chair
    Department of Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences
    University of California, San Francisco
  • William A. Catterall, PhD
    Professor and Chair
    Department of Pharmacology
    University of Washington School of Medicine
  • Aravinda Chakravarti, PhD
    Center for Complex Disease Genomics and Professor of Medicine
    Departments of Medicine, Pediatrics, and Molecular Biology and Genetics
    Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Vicki L. Chandler, PhD
    Dean of Natural Sciences
    Minerva Schools at KGI
  • Michael Czech, PhD
    Professor and Chair
    Program in Molecular Medicine
    University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Vishva Dixit, MD
    Vice President and Staff Scientist
    Genentech, Inc.
  • Gary Gilliland, MD, PhD
    President and Director
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
  • Susan Gottesman, PhD
    Co-Chief, Biochemical Genetics Section
    Laboratory of Molecular Biology
    Center for Cancer Research
    National Cancer Institute
  • Diane E. Griffin, MD
    Johns Hopkins University
    Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Caroline S. Harwood, PhD
    Gerald and Lyn Grinstein
    Professor of Microbiology
    University of Washington
  • Richard Henderson, PhD, FRS
    Programme Leader
    MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Bertil Hille, PhD
    Department of Physiology and Biophysics
    University of Washington
  • Marc W. Kirschner, PhD
    Systems Biology
    Harvard Medical School
  • Robb Krumlauf, PhD
    Scientific Director and Professor
    Stowers Institute for Medical Research
  • Story Landis, PhD
    Former Director
    National Institute of Neurological Disorders
  • Lynn Landmesser, PhD
    Garvin Professor and Chair
    Department of Neurosciences
    Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Richard Losick, PhD
    Maria Moors Cabot Professor
    The Biological Laboratories
    Harvard University
  • Eve Marder, PhD
    Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Neuroscience
    Biology Department and Volen Center
    Brandeis University
  • Michael A. Marletta, PhD
    CH and Annie Li Chair in the Molecular Biology Diseases
    University of California, Berkeley
  • Joan Massague, PhD
    Director, Alfred P. Sloan Chair Member
    Sloan Kettering Institute
  • Diane Mathis, PhD
    Chair and Professor of Pathology
    Department of Microbiology
    Harvard Medical School
  • Marcus Meister, PhD
    Professor of Biology
    Division of Biology and Biological Engineering
    California Institute of Technology
  • Andrew Murray, PhD
    Professor and Director
    Harvard University
  • W. James Nelson, PhD
    Rudy J. and Daphne Donohue Munzer Endowed Professor
    Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology
    James H. Clark Center, The Bio-X Program
    Stanford University Medical School
  • Luis F. Parada, PhD
    Albert C. Foster Chair
    Director, Brain Tumor Center
    Member, Cancer Biology and Genetics Program
    Sloan Kettering Institute
  • Hidde Ploegh, PhD
    Member, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
    Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Janet Rossant, PhD
    President and Scientific Director
    The Gairdner Foundation
    Emeritus Chief of Research and a Senior Scientist
    The Hospital for Sick Children
  • David Russell, PhD
    Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research
    McDermott Distinguished Professor
    Department of Molecular Genetics
    University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Joshua R. Sanes, PhD
    Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
    Director, Center for Brain Science
    Harvard University
  • Robert T. Sauer, PhD
    Salvador E. Luria Professor
    Department of Biology
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Richard Tsien, PhD
    Druckenmiller Professor of Neuroscience
    New York University Langone Medical Center
  • Fiona M. Watt, PhD
    Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
    King's College London
  • Susan Wessler, PhD
    Distinguished Professor of Genetics
    Home Secretary, National Academy of Sciences
    University of California President's Chair
    University of California, Riverside
  • Huntington F. Willard, PhD
    President and Director
    Marine Biological Laboratory