HomeAbout UsLeadershipMedical Advisory Board
Medical Advisory Board
The Medical Advisory Board (MAB) comprises distinguished scientists and leaders of biomedical research institutions who constitute the principal advisory group for the scientific programs of the Institute.

The MAB advises the president and vice presidents regarding:

  • The long-range strategy of the Institute for achieving its mission to promote biomedical research and science education;
  • Proposals for new research programs, investigator competitions, and grants programs;
  • The scientific achievements and future potential of current investigators, including the evaluation of whether an investigator's term of appointment should be renewed;
  • Other matters concerning scientific programs and performance upon which the president requests advice and recommendations.

The MAB typically consists of up to ten members including a Chairman. The term of appointment of each member is four years. Appointments are made by the president after consultation with the Chief Scientific Officer. The president and selected vice presidents are ex officio members of the MAB.

The MAB meets in plenary session usually four times annually. Each member is expected to attend one of the Institute's scientific meetings and to participate in investigator review sessions, which are normally held in conjunction with MAB meetings.

MAB Members

  • David Baltimore, PhD
    President Emeritus and
    Robert Andrews Millikan Professor of Biology
    California Institute of Technology
  • J. Michael Bishop, MD
    Director, G.W. Hooper Foundation and University Professor
    University of California, San Francisco
  • Michael R. Botchan, PhD
    Richard and Rhoda Goldman
    Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry
    Co-Chair of the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
    University of California, Berkeley
  • Gerald R. Fink, PhD
    Member, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
    Herman and Margaret Sokol Professor
    American Cancer Society Professor of Genetics
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Carol W. Greider, PhD
    Daniel Nathans Professor and Director
    Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
    The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, PhD
    Bethesda, Maryland
  • Rowena G. Matthews, PhD
    G. Robert Greenberg Professor Emeritus
    of Biological Chemistry and
    Research Professor Emeritus
    Life Sciences Institute
    University of Michigan
  • Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
    Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Janet Rossant, PhD
    Chief of Research
    The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto
  • Phillip A. Sharp , PhD
    Institute Professor
    Koch Institute of Integrative Cancer Research
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Bruce Stillman, PhD, FRS
    President and CEO
    Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne
    The Rockefeller University
  • Craig B. Thompson, MD
    President and CEO
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center